

SIERRA LEONE PARLIAMENT OAU Drive, Tower Hill, Freetown

PRESS RELEASE

10th December, 2014

PARLIAMENT APPROVES SIX (6) PRESIDENTIAL NOMINEES

The Parliamentary Committee on Appointments and the Public Service has presented its First Report of the Third Session of the Fourth Parliament of the Second Republic to the plenary on Wednesday 10th December, 2014 for the ratification of Six Presidential Nominees who were successfully interviewed based on their track records, tax obligations, and visionary tenure if approved by Parliament. The Committee is charged with the responsibility of vetting the suitability of Presidential Nominees; and comprises 16-Members including 9 APC, 6 SLPP, and 1 Paramount Chief. Representation in a Committee depends on the strength of the political party in Parliament cognizant of independent candidates.

The following Presidential Nominees were approved by Parliament through a collection of voices:

- 1. Ms. Yeabu Mariama Deborah Kamara Chairman, Board of Trustees, NASSIT;
- 2. Hon. Sam-May Lamin Macarthy- Member, National Commission for Children;
- 3. Rev. Cannon L.B Rogers Wright- Member, National Commission for Children;
- 4. Mr. Alpha Muctarr Jalloh- Board Member, Independent Media Commission;
- 5. Ms. Kadiatu Haja Kamara- Member, Petroleum Regulatory Agency Board; and
- 6. Ing. Darrell B.L Thompson- Board Member, SALWACO

In the spirit of the proviso of section 57 of Act No. 6 of the 1991 Constitution of Sierra Leone, nominees duly approved by Parliament will enter their official functions after they have taken and subscribed to an oath administered by H.E the President, Dr. Ernest Bai Koroma as inscribed in the Third Schedule of the said 1991 Constitution of Sierra Leone.

In another development, the Parliament of Sierra Leone has on the 10th of December, 2014 passed a motion which was moved and seconded by the Majority Leader, Hon. Ibrahim R. Bundu, and the Deputy Minority Leader, Hon. Ansumana J. Kaikai respectively; that the Public Emergency Regulations, 2014; a Constitutional Instrument No. 5 of 2014 which was laid before this House on the 21st August, 2014 do continue to be in force for a further period of 90 Days; commencing on the 11th day of December, 2014. This is pursuant to Section 29 subsection 10 of Act No. 6 of the 1991 Constitution of Sierra Leone, which provides that "every regulation or measure taken under this section, and every order or rule made in pursuance of such a regulation

shall, without prejudice to the validity of anything lawfully done thereunder, cease to have effect 90 days from the date upon which it comes into operation".

Meanwhile, the Committee of Supply has on the 10th December, 2014 commenced reporting to the Committee of the Whole House on the Appropriation Act, 2015; being an Act to authorize expenditure from the Consolidated Fund for the services of Sierra Leone for the year, 2015.

Department of Public Relations Parliament of Sierra Leone OAU Drive, Tower Hill Freetown

Tel: 076840285/077669726/078495023